Top 5 IPL Batsmen

Who are the Top 5 IPL Batsmen? Read to know

Posted June 22, 2021 in IPL.

User Image
Arshiya Mahajan
Top 5 IPL Batsmen

The Indian Premier League(IPL) is a cricket championship where eight teams from eight different cities play against each other. It was created by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007and generally takes place between March and May every year. The IPL also happens to be one of the most popular leagues in the cricketing world, and it is the most-attended cricket championship in the world. 

1. Virat Kohli: Virat Kohli is the current captain of the Indian national team. Additionally, he plays for Royal Challengers Banglore and for the Delhi national team. He is the captain of the ODI team, following the retirement of MS Dhoni. he is the number one ODI batsman in the ICC rankings. Virat Kohli holds the world record for being the fastest ODI batsman at 12,000 runs in ODI cricket. Furthermore, he has the second-highest number of centuries and the highest number of centuries in run-chases in the world in ODI format. He has the highest rating in the ODI, T20 and test ratings amongst Indian players. Currently, he has scored 5,878 runs in 192 matches.


2. Suresh Raina: second on this list is the former Indian international cricketer, Suresh Raina, who also plays for Uttar Pradesh. He was the captain of the Gujarat Lions in the Indian Premier League and is the current vice-captain of the Chennai Super Kings. He is the first player in IPL history to cross the 2,000- and 5000-run mark, and he is the first Indian cricketer to score a century in all three formats of cricket championships.


3. David Warner: David Warner is an Australian international cricket player and former vice-captain of the Australian national team. In the IPL, he has been awarded the orange cap three times and has scored over 5000 runs. He has played for the Delhi daredevils and sunrises Hyderabad throughout his career.


4. Rohith Sharma: Rohith Sharma is an Indian international player that captains the Mumbai Indians in the IPL championships. They won the championship five times under his captaincy. He is also the vice-captain of the Indian limited-overs team. He is one of the only four players to have scored over 5000 runs in this league, at 5, 230 runs.


5. Shikhar Dhawan: Shikhar Dhawan is a left-handed Indian international player that plays for Delhi Capitals in the IPL. he stands fifth on this list at 5,197 runs in 176 matches. He is also the fifth player to hit 5000 runs after David warner. 

Do not press Back or Refresh the page
Kindly wait while we process your request